Chris Said vs James Hacker (fatboyslim remix)

The more we learn of the duties and projects of spanking new Parliamentary Secretary Chris Said, the more I am convinced that Lawrence Gonzi brushed up on his episodes of Yes, Minister! before choosing his last cabinet. Is it just me or are Chris Said’s projects an uncanny reminder of Minister Hacker’s workings at the Ministry of Administrative Affairs?

Here’s Chris Said today on the Indy in an article entitled “From Red Tape to Red Carpet“:

The BRU’s (Better Regulation Unit) mandate is to simplify existing regulation and consequently reduce the administrative burdens on businesses and citizens. In drawing up its action plan the BRU has taken an inward looking “top-down” and “bottom-up” approach, which resulted in 111 measures. These have been subdivided into five main thrusts which are the setting up of a one-stop-shop entity or consolidation of existing entities; revision of procedures and processes; use of ICT and eGovernment services; simplifying legislation and repealing obsolete legislation; and consolidation of forms.

So far 49 measures (43 per cent) have been completed and it is the government’s intention to proceed with the implementation of the action plan for simplification. The government will eventually close off the current action plan by completing all measures and embark on a plan which is more business driven in terms of the proposals put forward.

In line with the government’s commitment to involve the citizen in its decision-making, the BRU is conducting a consultation process with stakeholder organisations in order to obtain feedback. This will be analysed with a view to recommending further actions to the plan for simplification. So far the BRU has met the constituted bodies that are represented on the Malta Council for Economic and Social Development, that is, the GRTU, Chamber of Small and Medium Enterprises, the Chamber of Commerce and Industry (CoC), the Federation of Industries (FOI), the Malta Employers Association (MEA) and the Malta Hotels and Restaurants Association (MHRA).

Easy does it! Now I wonder who the Sir Humphrey behind the Action Plan for Simplification who comes up with a statement like: “The government will eventually close off the current action plan by completing all measures and embark on a plan which is more business driven in terms of the proposals put forward.” ?

In any case. I guess this means that things are being done. Or seem to be done. Fair enough but I do think we have a different idea of what simplification is about. It’s the simplification plan, stupid!

8 responses to “Chris Said vs James Hacker (fatboyslim remix)

  1. Is it just me or it’s a wee bit hard to understand?

  2. no, you are not.

  3. This concerns a contribution in French in Daphne Caruana Galizia blogs. The subject was foreign and Maltese languages
    This is the third time I am challenging Mrs D.Caruana Galizia to publish the following explanation.
    Of course she insists not to. If so we shall see.
    So the notorious lady Daphne does not like the use of “tu”in French when addressing her and insists on the use of “vous”.
    What a mentality.
    And the she pretends to correct an expert’s French. Here’s how she reacted to my contribution to her blogs about languages:
    Her quotaion from my contribution and her reaction:
    “Emploie un traducteur si tu ne comprends rien a ce message”(my words).
    It’s ‘vous’ to you, if you don’t mind,(her reaction) and I happen to have been extremely good at French thanks to the efforts of one of the most gifted teachers I ever had, the late Major Diacono, who took me on for a couple of hours a week despite being retired (he was a neighbour). Thanks to him – my teacher at school was hopeless – I sat my French O-level at 14 and scored an A. I can’t converse or write a treatise after all these years, but I sure as hell can read your rubbish.(her quotation)
    “Je m’adresse a toi et non au public.” (my quotation)
    Well, tough titties, darling. Go and toi-toi your dog or your maid, and while you’re at it, surely that should be ‘publique’?](her reaction)
    Note the word rubbish regarding perfect French. To illustrate her knowledge she took exception to being called “tu” instead of vous”.
    Here are my remarks that she failed to publish; the reason is obvious.
    “Finally she is absolutely certain that the use of “public” is wrong and that it should be “publique” when referring to a group of persons.
    Mind you she boast of an A in “O” level. But she does not know that “public” as used correctly is a noun, while her wrong suggestion of using “publique is an adjective.
    She ought not to interefer in grounds that are not of her competence.
    All this happened this week and last week in her Blog site.
    Readers ought to deduce their own conclusions.

  4. “This concerns a contribution in French in Daphne Caruana Galizia blogs. ”

    First Question: So why the bloomin’ hell did you write it here?

    Second Question: Are you a member of some masochistic community? I do not purport to be an expert in French, or any other language for that matter but surely you know that I revel in picking on minglish contributions… so why dare go where Lornas fear to tread (or sue)?

    These grounds are not of my comptence. Feel free to use the blog… provoke a controversy even… but caveat scriptor – another lousy use of English as she is written and you’ll witness the wrath of the j’accuse pen!

    ” I will strike down upon thee with great vengeance and furious anger those who attempt to poison and destroy the integrity of my blog”

    tee hee … public indeed!

  5. I am no memember of any society. I am a free lance contributor. I addressed her in French because as usual whoever does not write perfect English she promptly qualify him as some one with a very low standard of education or no education at all.. On the other hand I never expected that she would publish my contribution, because what I wrote concerned only her, without using any disgusting word.
    She even tried to involve Dr.A.Licari, whom I never met.
    My first contact with her blog concerned labour party politicians and her again disgusting expressions that are hardly printable.
    This is not intended to be publicised but as a personal explanatory letter to Mr. Jacques René Zammit
    I will gladly contribute to this blog site on other and serious, non personal subjects.

  6. Gee! Only “free lance”?

    You really should turn professional and reconsider becoming a “memember”.

  7. Sorry, I stummer when typing so forgive my “memember”, I use just one finger.
    Free lance,isn’t the expression used in blogs?
    if not I’ll will not use it again not to offend any one’s good taste.

  8. Oh golly-gosh, I see my old stalker Sal Parcing sive Philip Dupuis sive Anthony Magri sive etc etc has turned up here using the name Michael Debono. This one’s a weirdo, Jacques, and he keeps changing his name without changing his computer, so the same IP address comes up time and again (I told him about it but he wouldn’t listen….you can’t say I don’t play nice). You might wish to do what I do: take a note of that number and press delete each time it pops up. Then he’ll migrate to another blog, to post his complaints against you there, possibly as Batman Jones.

Leave a Reply

