The Cost of Dying

I’m sorry but the news today begged this kind of title. Granted, the Times article entitled Funerals could become cheaper as hearse service is liberalised was a bit less morbid, but J’accuse is J’accuse. In this day and age when the cost of living is on everybody’s mind can it safely be said that this kind of news will be welcomed with a sigh of relief? Probably not – but I guess it’s the first step in the transport “revolution”. By the way, the pic could be a bit misleading… it’s the hearse service, not the coffin sales, that could become cheaper – tant biex taghraf tmut infurmat! (fate i dovuti scongiuri).

– “Pardon me for living, I’m sure.”
– NO-ONE GETS PARDONED FOR LIVING.

(Pratchett’s Death converses with the recently departed.)

— (Terry Pratchett, Mort)

5 responses to “The Cost of Dying

  1. Michael Carabott

    dead good that is

  2. danny attard

    death, is nothing to us, since when we exist there is no death, and when there is death we do not exist, so where is the savings🙂

    ps with apologies to episomething

  3. So now it has become cheaper to die than to live…..

  4. Lots of good it does to know my funeral will cost me less. I want things to be cheaper when I’m alive not dead.
    “I’ll save money on the hearse” won’t be my last thought. It won’t make me die with a smile on my face.

  5. While I could follow the sentiments that others have expressed I would like the government to address the following anomolies while it is at it:

    – inheritence tax has to go. How can you tax the taxed and retain a clean conscience?

    – reintroduce cremation facilities and services. Some actually prefer it for religious or other reasons and I see no reason to deny them.

    Although I do wonder… is this the government’s way of preparing the people for the implimentation of the EU’s upcoming healthcare “reforms”? Hmmmn…

Leave a Reply

