Sabotage

 

beastie-boys-sabotage-352116.jpg

There we go again. The debate has degenerated once again. Do I need to point fingers? No I guess you know who you are. You see, it is in the interest of the many baiters and taunters to disrupt the discussion here. You call them trolls. In my own blog world I don’t call them anything except the brakes on thinking aloud. There are those with the real chip on their shoulder, those with some personal crusade against I don’t know what and those who just love the name-calling and amateur psychological assessments of the other. I have been led to conclude that J’accuse’s worst decision in this campaign has been to let loose the comment boxes.

The net result has been that the saboteurs seem to be winning the day. Not with arguments but with the infusion of a sense of bitterness or intolerance that would best be kept to their own blog pages (and if they don’t own one they could try starting their own Cuschieri style blog). I may have been lax and I apologise to the readers of J’accuse for this lapse. As I said many times, the blog does not depend on readers – it depends on ideas in and hopefully people interested in reacting to the idea with more ideas.

The reaction to this sabotage is a simple one. Moderation is now back on. Arguments related to (or even criticising) the post in question will be accepted. I reserve the right to refuse comments that abuse the right to anonimity.

The blog will probably suffer from a reduction in hits. A sacrifice I would gladly make in order to resume a level of decency in the discussion.

Thanks again. It’s my blog and I moderate if I want to. The carcading and insults end… the real debate begins.

Sabotage – Beastie Boys

I Can’t Stand It I Know You Planned It
I’m Gonna Set It Straight, This Watergate
I Can’t Stand Rocking When I’m In Here
Because Your Crystal Ball Ain’t So Crystal Clear
So While You Sit Back and Wonder Why
I Got This Fucking Thorn In My Side
Oh My, It’s A Mirage
I’m Tellin’ Y’all It’s Sabotage

So Listen Up ‘Cause You Can’t Say Nothin’
You’ll Shut Me Down With A Push Of Your Button?
But Yo I’m Out And I’m Gone
I’ll Tell You Now I Keep It On And On

‘Cause What You See You Might Not Get
And We Can Bet So Don’t You Get Souped Yet
You’re Scheming On A Thing That’s A Mirage
I’m Trying To Tell You Now It’s Sabotage

Whyyy; Our Backs Are Now Against The Wall
Listen All Of Y’all It’s A Sabotage
Listen All Of Y’all It’s A Sabotage
Listen All Of Y’all It’s A Sabotage
Listen All Of Y’all It’s A Sabotage

I Can’t Stand It, I Know You Planned It
But I’m Gonna Set It Straight This Watergate
But I Can’t Stand Rockin’ When I’m In This Place
Because I Feel Disgrace Because You’re All In My Face
But Make No Mistakes And Switch Up My Channel
I’m Buddy Rich When I Fly Off The Handle
What Could It Be, It’s A Mirage
You’re Scheming On A Thing – That’s Sabotage

4 responses to “Sabotage

  1. Jacques, the blog is yours but with all that’s being going on since Sunday do you have an opinion about anything apart from an electoral reform which would hypothetically give a hypothetical party a hypothetical Parliamentary representation which would hypothetically hold the balance of power in Parliament necessitating a coalition?

    And no, I did not say “hypothetically” once too often in that question.

    So, your take on the MPs returned (remember, just because the Greens are not in Parliament does not mean there will not be a Parliament)? Membership of Cabinet? The race for the Labour leadership? Local councils (results out tonight)?

  2. Thank you Fausto for the question. Yes I acknowledge that the blog has lacked reactions to most of the things you mentioned – (a little note – the hypothetical steps do not necessarily follow in a domino effct but more of that later).

    I do intend to Blog on Cabinet, MPs and Labour Leadership. Honestly I would focus less on Local Councils at the moment but that is a personal opinion. UNfortunately the return from Malta meant a hectic week at work and a number of appointments. Secondly I had this moderation quandary to solve – especially with all opinions in this blog being attributed to me by some sections of the media (and Daphne thinking they are right). Damage limitation is being done in that respect since it is a threat to the freedom of blogging in general and not just to my blog – I hope that in this we are in agreement.

    It’s as though I posted a comment on your blog saying “I think coalitions are great” and the next day columnists are saying Fausto believes in coalitions. Anyway more posts this weekend hopefully. It’s raining outside so we can get more stuff done.

  3. Yes, we are in agreement. Honestly, I never thought your not moderating comments was a wise move. I went through some problems with unmoderated comments some time back and I was dealing with a smaller volume of comments.

    Local councils do not tickle my interest usually but this time round, as they were held on the same day as the general election, they would offer additional insights into the general election result.

  4. Sabotage

    “The reaction to this sabotage is a simple one. Moderation is now back on. Arguments related to (or even criticising) the post in question will be accepted. I reserve the right to refuse comments that abuse the right to anonimity.

    The blog will probably suffer from a reduction in hits. A sacrifice I would gladly make in order to resume a level of decency in the discussion.”

    Jacques, your strategy is without any doubt an excellent solution.

Leave a Reply

