J’accuse Votes: Epilogue

To every man his vote. That is the essence of democracy. I started off telling you I would tell you how I would vote. I ended up telling you the main considerations I would make when I would be voting. I think that is fairer for you and for me. For you because I think in the end you are free to make your choices. Free to disagree with me and free to agree with me. I will not use fear or threats to tell you how to vote. I will not pretend to be intellectually superior, more mature, more experienced, more “with it” than anybody else. I may think so in my wankellectual kind of way but that should not allow me to preach to you in any way.

If the change I believe in is to begin to happen then the ultimate aim should be that every voters’ right to choose is respected. I have honestly exposed the rationale behind my vote. You may try to guess where my number 1 and number 2 are going. That would change nothing. I am one voter among over 300,000. I am nothing on my own. The change I hope is possible envisages the possibility that all 300,000 voters can compare calmly between a myriad of options and that when they get to choose, as many opinions as is democratically possible are represented. That their choice is not marred by campaign stunts of the last hour and sleaze. That parties feel confident to face each other with ideas and that all this debate is underlined by the common aim for the quality of life in the country to be improved for every single man and woman.

This campaign has taught me many things and I have managed to share ideas with many people. As far as the blog is concerned I am sure that within two weeks many people will have forgotten J’accuse and the lack of electoral tension will make the various political punditry on this blog seem “boring” and “bland”. J’accuse will continue as it always has. Punditry worth reading with a dash of satire and controversy. It has gained some new irregular contributors and a wonderful cartoonist who will be your company on the main page for the next two days.

I thank you all – those who have agreed and those who have disagreed. In the words of Vinnie Jones:

It’s been emotional.

J’accuse Votes: The Trilogy (links)

Part I: Definitely Not Labour

Part II: The GonziPN Conundrum

Part III: The Democratic Alternative

5 responses to “J’accuse Votes: Epilogue

  1. hehe

    Good night my friend.

    Yes, it was emotional.

    🙂 An electoral campaign among friends.

  2. Ftit hsiebijiet minn Voltaire:

    Aime la vérité, mais pardonne à l’erreur.

    Il vaut mieux hasarder de sauver un coupable que de condamner un innocent.

    Qu’est-ce que la tolérance? c’est l’apanage de l’humanité. Nous sommes tous pétris de faiblesses et d’erreurs; pardonnons-nous réciproquement nos sottises, c’est la première loi de la nature.

    u fuq kollox:

    Le mieux est l’ennemi du bien…

    ahsbuha sew…u grazzi

  3. Can you please translate Voltaire, I am an ignoramus!

  4. It translates roughly as “We’re all f***d, dudes”

  5. l-ahhar wahda:
    “Il-perfett l-ghadu tat-tajjeb”

Leave a Reply

