Ultima Noche

Last night in this great town. Everything’s been good… the food, the visits and the football match in the rain to watch Henry and Ronaldinho close up (very close thanks to an expedia semi-screw up). I see that more and more people are talking politics and that while I am away J’accuse has not had any holidays with more and more comments. Cheers. I am dying to get back to the political chitchat and discussion now that I have recharged my batteries.

I note that we have an official election date … that’s great for my plans for the March 8th wedding I am invited to… saves me from getting multiple flights to Malta. Seen the gonzipn logo… much to say about that too. Must say that first impression is that it is very defeatist – all signs point to a panicky PN that will rely more and more on hoping that people are scared of the dark monster. Speaking of the dark monster I read elsewhere that Sant thinks that the need for change is gathering momentum.  Too true Doctor-S, only you have not exaclty tapped into the kind of change the free thinking part of the populace really want.

Seen many Maltese in Barca. Ryanair has spread il-Maltin into this beautiful city. That way the MTA posters advertising “the best kept secret of the mediterranean” were not the only encounter with Malta I had during this stay. Sorry to say it (and it may be because you are more alert when you hear the language) but the Maltese are still very, very loud beings when abroad.

Anyways. I am off to enjoy the last hours of the night… thanks to wifi connections in hotels I have managed to stay close to the blog. Thanks to a limited amount of discipline I have not overused this marvelous piece of technology.

See you soon, when controversy will be brought to you daily once again.

Hasta Luego.

6 responses to “Ultima Noche

  1. Hmmm getting married on election day… poor couple! I was born on the day of an election – and a crucial one at that.

    You MUST hear PN’s campaign songs. A “Nghidu Iva” Part 2 – including Chiara singing the bridge and a “pop” song with the cheesiest lyrics. VERY cringe worthy; complete with references to the family, as well as references to “flejjes kbar”, “incertezzi”, “differenzi” and a pathetic attempt at reaching out to all parties through music. So bad it’s almost parody like.

  2. Seen the gonzipn logo… much to say about that too. Must say that first impression is that it is very defeatist – all signs point to a panicky PN that will rely more and more on hoping that people are scared of the dark monster.

    Erm, it’s “gonzipn” not “santmlp” although that might be an idea. And, were you of the same view in the days of “eddie fiducja”?

  3. Fausto, if I’m not mistaken Eddie Fiducja was never an official electoral slogan.

    87: Xoghol. Gustizzja. Liberta’.
    92: Solidarjeta’ dejjem u kullimkien
    96: Futur
    98: Gid. Fiducja. Direzzjoni.
    03: Iva. PN.

    I think Fiducja was the 96-pre election PN general council theme.

    And that was my Fausto moment. But, of course, I stand to be corrected.

  4. just cannot understand the ‘gonzipn’ thing. no one told him that this is not a presidential election? or is it that he was so happy being both PM and Minister of finance that he intends to be Minister of Everything if he is re-elected?

  5. I think the gonzipn thing was a last-minute idea after polls at Tal-Pieta’ showed that the only poll the PN manage to win is “Do you have more faith in Gonzi or Sant?” So it’s only resonable that they try and put Gonzi instead of PN on the ballots. In fact for the first time the PN will not use their emblem on the ballot sheet but a photo of Gonzi (with Kate in the background).

  6. Fausto, if I’m not mistaken Eddie Fiducja was never an official electoral slogan.

    You are right: it appeared on party propoganda for the 1992 election. But then I never said it had been. Ditto “gonzipn”, for that matter.

Leave a Reply

